ESO: Music For Everyone

Happy Christmas and New Year’s From Everyone at the ESO

Join us for our first concert of 2016!

3 PM, 7 February, 2016, Hereford Shirehall-
Beethoven’s Eroica and Mendelssohn’s Masterpiece

Shirehall, Hereford
St Peters Square, Hereford HR1 2HX

CLICK HERE TO BOOK or phone 01905 28613 extension 4.


English Symphony Orchestra
Kenneth Woods- Principal Conductor
Beethoven’s Eroica and Mendelssohn’s Masterpiece

Emily Doolittle- green/blue (UK Premiere)
Mendelssohn- Violin Concerto in E Minor
Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin
Beethoven- Symphony no. 3 “Eroica

Beethoven’s Third Symphony is revolutionary music for revolutionary times. Conceived during the French revolution and written during the turbulent years that followed it, Beethoven cast this work on an unprecedented grand scale, creating a musical evocation of human courage unlike any before or since.

Mendelssohn was music’s greatest child prodigy, but his beloved Violin Concerto is one of his last works, a magnificent summing up of his evergreen genius and gift for melody. The young virtuoso Alexander Sitkovetsky is fast making a name for himself as one of the greatest violinists of his generation.

Composer Emily Doolittle, who has recently moved to Glasgow and joins us for this concert, has been hailed as one of the greatest Canadian composers of her generation. The ESO’s recent performance of her work “falling still,” described by Classical Source as “a very beautiful work, the shortest of the evening’s pieces, drawing the attentive listener in such as way as to invite – if not demand – quiet contemplation and sympathy,” has been heard by millions of listeners across the USA on the national concert programme “Performance Today.”  “green/blue” is a playful and exciting work full of the kinds of colourful writing its title would suggest.



Telephone booking now closed- tickets available online or at the door from 1:30 PM



March 4th                   Leominster Lion Ballroom

March 13th                 Malvern Christ Church

March 16th                 Burford

March 19th                 St. John’s  Chipping Campden


ESO- Engage and Lift the Spirit

You can help make the music happen!