A Romantic Evening at Cheltenham Town Hall


This March the English Symphony Orchestra returns to Cheltenham Town Hall for a Romantic composer-led programme featuring Tchaikovsky’s challenging but much-loved Violin Concerto, performed by ESO leader Zoë Beyers, the overture from Schumann’s literary-inspired piece Manfred, and concludes with Dvořák’s stunning Symphony No.9 ‘From the New World’.



Robert Schumann  Manfred Overture
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky  Violin Concerto, Op.35*
Antonín Dvořák  Symphony No.9

English Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Kenneth Woods
*Soloist: Zoë Beyers (violin)

Schumann’s complete work Manfred – based upon Lord Byron’s dramatic poem of the same name – is rarely performed these days, however the Overture has found its place in Schumann’s enduring repertoire. Schumann’s love of literature was fostered by his father, a bookseller and publisher, and his affinity for combining great literary works and music, alongside his own writing in the journal Neue Zeitschrift für Musik, led to him becoming one of the influential artistic voices of the Romantic era.

ESO leader and violinist Zoë Beyers will be bringing Tchaikovsky’s challenging but much-loved Violin Concerto to life. Although the concerto was not well received by his friends, family or critics in the first instance, the public’s enthusiasm for the work was swift and triumphant and it remains one of the most difficult violin concertos in a violinist’s repertoire.

The concert concludes with Dvořák’s Symphony No.9 ‘From the New World‘. Composed during his time as director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York, this symphony was a huge success and the New York Evening Post commented that it is “the greatest symphonic work ever composed in this country” – high praise indeed!

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Free entry using ticket for the concert.

Ticket Prices
Full Price from £13.50
Students from £11

Event link and tickets: https://eso.co.uk/16mar22-cheltenham 


For further press information please contact pr@eso.co.uk