Kaija Saariaho – Terra Memoria

Want to view the video?

You need to be an ESO Digital Supporter to view this content. Please click here for more information, or sign in to your account below if you’re already registered.

Already a supporter? Click here to log in.


Kaija Saariaho – Terra Memoria (2010) – UK Premiere


English Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Kenneth Woods

Filmed at LSO St Luke’s, London, at the UK Premiere on Sunday 4th March 2018


“Finally, a work by the Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho, Terra memoria, which opens and closes as a study in pianissimo, but which, as the music’s events unfold, continues to present aspects of quite simple ideas which are developed and threaded in enthralling fashion. Saariaho’s inventiveness in drawing much from – for example – a simple descending three-note scale, and its inversion, proved surprisingly original and emotionally fulfilling, as phrase after phrase lapped and fell back, as waves on the shore: not a Finnish ‘wall of water’ but invention curbed and directed by the imagination of this eminently gifted composer.

Throughout this absorbing concert, one must pay tribute to the players’ musicianship, self-evidently as one in their desire to do their best, and to Kenneth Woods, whose skill and undemonstrative mastery of the music was a joy to behold”

Robert Matthew-Walker, Classical Source