Journeys of Creation and Renewal
24th November 2022
Holy Trinity Church, Whitecross Rd, Hereford HR4 0DU


Vaughan Williams – Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis
Deborah Pritchard – Violin Concerto ‘Wall of Water’
Elgar – Introduction and Allegro for Strings
David Matthews – Shiva Dances


English String Orchestra
Conductor: Kenneth Woods
Soloists: Zoë Beyers

About this Concert

String orchestra music that evokes the powerful forces of creation and renewal, a soaring violin concerto and luscious sounds of Vaughan Williams and Elgar in their element. Elgar’s ‘Introduction and Allegro’ pairs an intimate string quartet with a full string orchestra, with thrilling fast-paced music, contemplative meandering melodies and sheer virtuosity. When David Matthews was asked to write for the same musicians last year, he took inspiration from the Hindu god Shiva – the god of creation and renewal, using the forces of destruction to bring new life into the world. ESO gave the world premiere of ‘Shiva Dances’ earlier this year at the Elgar Festival and we couldn’t resist playing it again. Back in 2014 we asked Deborah Pritchard to write something for us, and she decided to respond to the oil paintings of Maggi Hambling – the result was ‘Wall of Water’ for solo violin and string orchestra. Completing the programme is Vaughan Williams’ ‘Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis’ – taking an ancient theme, the composer winds it through not one but two string orchestras, creating a unique, luxurious sound-world.