The Journey Home
23rd November 2022
Great Malvern Priory, Church St, Malvern WR14 2AY


Haydn – Farewell Symphony
David Matthews – Le Lac
Barber – Knoxville Summer of 1915
Mozart – Symphony No. 36 ‘Linz’


English Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Kenneth Woods
Soloists: April Frederick (Soprano)

About this Concert

Journey home with English Symphony Orchestra The clarity and elegance of Mozart and Haydn’s classical symphonies entwine with Barber’s rich evocation of American memories and David Matthew’s hauntingly beautiful Le Lac. Mozart penned his ‘Linz’ Symphony as he travelled home from Salzburg to Vienna, and Haydn’s ‘Farewell’ symphony is a musical hint to let him and his fellow musicians return home having been kept on an extended summer holiday for too long by their employer. Barber’s ‘Knoxville: Summer of 1915’ is a nostalgic view of the world through a young boy’s eyes – an adult reminiscing of a lost time. David Matthews’ ‘Le Lac’ sets the words of poet Alphonse de Lamartine which evoke a young couple’s journey across a calm lake, as they fall in love. Kenneth is English Symphony Orchestra’s Artistic Director and Principal Conductor. He has created this programme as part of our Journeys and Discoveries season. Kenneth will be conducting the concert, and will also speak about the music. Soprano April Frederick is English Symphony Orchestra’s Affiliate Artist. David Matthew’s Le Lac was written in 2017 for her to perform, and she gave its world premiere with Orchestra of the Swan. April will be performing the solos in 'Knoxville: Summer of 1915' and 'Le Lac'