Wednesday the 17th October 2018 at 7.30pm

Great Malvern Priory, Church Street, Malvern WR14 2AY

English String Orchestra
Kenneth Woods- Artistic Director
Sara Trickey – Violin, Sarah-Jane Bradley – Viola

Pre-concert conversation at 6.30pm
With David Matthews and Guy Rickards


Harold Truscott– Elegy for Strings (UK Premiere)
Mozart – Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola
Sara Trickey – Violin, Sarah-Jane Bradley – Viola
David Matthews – Double Concerto
Mozart – Symphony No. 29 in A major

Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante has long been one of the most beloved works in classical music, loved for the way in which Mozart creates an endlessly fascinating tapestry of dialogue between the two soloists. David Matthews’ effervescent and engaging Double Concerto is full of Mozartian humour and dazzling star turns for the two soloists.

The concert opens with the UK Premiere of Harold Truscott’s Elegy for Strings. Truscott was one Britain’s last great lyrical composers, a man almost completely overlooked in his lifetime, whose beautiful and powerful work is just beginning to be re-discovered. The concert ends with one of Mozart’s most tuneful and life-affirming works, the Symphony No. 29 in A major K.

Join us at 6.30pm for a special pre-concert conversation as Kenneth Woods interviews David Matthews about his Double Concerto and speaks with Gramophone critic and leading Truscott scholar, Guy Rickards, about how this lost master’s music was found and brought to life. It’s a fascinating tale!

This concert is part of “David Matthews in the Heart of England,” a celebration of the legacy of this great British composer on the occasion of his 75th Birthday.

TICKETS: £5-20 (Discount for ESO Friends and family tickets)
Book online via Worcester Live

Phone Booking  01905 611427
In person at the Huntingdon Hall Box office CrownGate Worcester, WR1 2ES

Programme may be subject to change