Voyage to America - Mayflower on the Sea of Time
17th June 2023
Worcester Cathedral, 8 College Yard, Worcester WR1 2LA


Antonín Dvořák  Symphony No. 9 ‘From the New World’
Philip Sawyers  Mayflower on the Sea of Time


English Symphony Orchestra

English Symphony Orchestra Chorus

Conductor: Kenneth Woods
Soloists: April Fredrick (Soprano), Thomas Humphreys (Baritone)

About this Concert

We continue our 'Journeys and Discoveries' season at Worcester Cathedral. The concert will include Philip Sawyers' 'Mayflower on the Sea of Time', which was due to be premiered in 2020 - one of the highpoints of the city of Worcester's commemorations to mark the 400th anniversary of the Mayflower’s pioneering voyage to the New World in 1620 and Worcestershire’s strong connection to this momentous and far-reaching event.