Saturday 14th March at 7.30pm

Great Malvern Priory, Church Street, Malvern, WR14 2AY



English Symphony Orchestra
Maja Bogdanovic cello
Kenneth Woods conductor



Adrian Williams Russells’ Elegy
Haydn Cello Concerto in C major
Beethoven Symphony No. 1

The ESO continue our celebrations of Beethoven’s 250th Anniversary with his audacious and precocious First Symphony. At the time of its premiere, the young Beethoven had established himself as the most talented and controversial musician of his generation, and his First Symphony took his burgeoning fame to a whole new level. The concert opens with a haunting work by Composer-in-Association, Adrian Williams “Russells’ Elegy”, described by the composer as “a soulful ‘in-memorium’ for two great people who touched my life,” rising out of darkness to end in eternal calm. Maja Bogdanovic, who is fast becoming one of today’s most popular cello virtousi, returns to the ESO for a performance of Haydn’s dazzling C major Cello Concerto.


Tickets available from Eventbrite

Full £20.00
ESO Friends £18.00
Under 18s £5.00