Lone Voices - London Chamber Music Society Sundays at Kings Place
14th April 2024
Kings Place, 90 York Way, London, N1 9AG


Jean Sibelius – Rakastava (The Lover) for Strings and Timpani Op. 14
Philip Sawyers – Concerto for Trumpet, Strings and Timpani
Antonín Dvořák – Nocturne for Strings in B major
Peter Fribbins – Soliloquies for Trumpet and Strings 
Edward Elgar – Introduction & Allegro for Strings Op. 47 



English String Orchestra
Conductor: Kenneth Woods
Soloists: Simon Desbruslais, trumpet

About this Concert

This concert is a celebration of musical localism, as we take to London a programme that celebrates the ESO’s musical heritage and our history in Elgar Country. We will perform a selection of string orchestra classics – Dvořák’s beautiful Nocturne, Elgar’s famous Introduction and Allegro and Sibelius’s rarely heard three-movement suite Rakastava, from 1912. In between, we are joined by trumpet soloist Simon Desbruslais in Philip Sawyers’ striking concerto and three short lyrical Soliloquies by Peter Fribbins.